selected by the Governor from the Assembly and re-elected, on accepting office, by the people, the latter arrangement having come into force on 1st October, 1897.

In the session of 1887 the districts of Assiniboia, Alberta, Athabasca and Saskatchewan were represented for the first time in the Dominion Parliament, four representatives in the House of Commons and two in the Senate being given to them.

The district of Yukon was constituted and declared to be a separate territory under the name of the Yukon Territory by Chap. 6, Acts of the Parliament of Canada, 1898, and amended by Chap. 11, Acts of 1899. The first commissioner was appointed by Order in Council, dated 4th July, 1898.

The first representative in the Federal Parliament was elected on Dec. 2nd, 1902, pursuant to Chap. 34, Act 2nd Edward VII.

The system of government established in Canada under the Union Act of 1867 is a Federal Union (the first of the kind in the British Empire) having (a) a general or central government controlling matters essential to the general development, the permanency and the unity of the whole Dominion, and (b) a number of local or provincial governments having the control and management of certain matters naturally and conveniently falling within their defined jurisdiction, while each government is administered in accordance with the British system of parliamentary institutions.

The chief executive government and authority is vested in the Sovereign, in whom is also vested the chief command of the militia and of all naval and military forces in Canada. His Majesty is represented by a Governor General, appointed by the King in Council but paid by Canada.

The Parliament of Canada consists of first, the Sovereign; 2nd, an Upper House, called the Senate; and 3rd, a Lower House, called the House of Commons.

The Governor General governs under the advice of a Council of Ministers, known as the King's Privy Council for Canada, which is responsible to the Parliament.

The Senate, as at present constituted, consists of 81 members, 24 each from Ontario and Quebec, ten each from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, four each from Prince Edward Island and Manitoba, three from British Columbia, and two from the North-west Territories.

The House of Commons, which is elected by the people for a term of five years, consists at present of 214 members.*

This number is fixed under the provisions of the Act of Confederation and the representation is arranged after each decennial census, by Act of Parliament, the basis being that the province of Quebec is always to have 65 representatives, and each of the other provinces such a number as will give the same proportion of representatives to its population as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec as ascertained by the census. British

^{*}Under the new Redistribution Act, which comes into operation in the general elections next following those of November, 1900, the number of members of the House of Commons is fixed at 214, the same as under the previous Redistribution Act. The loss by Ontario of 6, by Nova Scotia of 2, by New Brunswick and P. E. Island of 1 each—10 in all—being made up by the gains of Manitoba (3), British Columbia (1) and North-west Territories (6). The Yukon received a representative in 1902 by special Act.