The General Elections took place on 23rd June, 1896, and the Tupper

Administration resigned 8th July.

Hon. Wilfrid Laurier was sworn in as first Minister, 11th July, and the other members of the Cabinet on 13th July, excepting the Minister of the Interior, who was sworn in on 17th November. This formed the eighth Ministry.

The following tables give the names of the Lieutenant-Governors of the several provinces; a list of the sessions of each Legislative Assembly, with the dates of the opening and closing, from the time each province, respectively, entered confederation; and the names of the present members of each Government.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS OF THE PROVINCES OF CANADA SINCE ADMISSION INTO THE CONFEDERATION.

Province.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Ontario	D. A. Macdonald, P.C. John Beverley Robinson. Sir Alexander Campbell, K.C.M.G., P.C Geo. A. Kirkpatrick, P.C	June	1, 1867 14, 1868 5, 1873 18, 1875 30, 1880 8, 1887 30, 1892 18, 1897
Quebec	Sir N. F. Belleau, K.C.M.G. Réné Edouard Caron Luc Letellier de St. Just, P.C. Théodore Robitaille, P.C. L. F. R. Masson, P.C. A. R. Angers Sir J. A. Chapleau	Feb. Dec. July Nov. Oct.	1, 1867 31, 1868 11, 1873 15, 1876 26, 1879 7, 1884 24, 1887 5, 1892 2, 1898
Nova Scotia	Sir E. Kenny, Kt. (acting)  Hon. Joseph Howe, P.C.  A. G. Archibald, C.M.G., Q.C., P.C.  Matthew Henry Richey  A. W. McLelan, P.C.  Malachy Bowes Daly (first appointment)  "" (second ")	July Oct. Jan. May July " " Aug.	1, 1867 18, 1867 31, 1868 13, 1870 1, 1873 4, 1873 4, 1883 9, 1888 11, 1890 29, 1895 7, 1900
New Brunswick	Col. F. P. Harding. Hon. L. A. Wilmot, D.C.L.  S. L. Tilley, C.B.  Ed. Baron Chandler, Q.C.  Robert Duncan Wilmot, P.C.  Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley, K.C.M.G., P.C.  John Boyd	Nov. July Feb. Oct. Sept. Dec.	1, 1867 18, 1867 14, 1868 5, 1873 16, 1878 11, 1880 31, 1885 21, 1893 20, 1893 9, 1896 5, 1902