1893.

## GOVERNORS GENERAL OF THE DOMINION OF CANADA AND ADMINISTRATORS.

1867. Viscount Monk. 1868. Sir Chas. A. Windham (Admin'r).
1869. Sir John Young Bart (Admin'r).
1869. Sir John Young (Baron Lisgar from Nov., 1870).
1879. 1872. Lt.-General Sir C. Hastings Doyle 1894. (Adm.) 1872. Earl of Dufferin. Lt.-Genl. W. O'Grady Haly (Adm.) 1874. 1878. Gen. Sir Patrıck McDougall (Adm.) 1878. Sir John Campbell (Marquess of Lorne). 1881. Gen. Sir Patrick McDougall (Adm.) 1883. Marquess of Lansdowne. 1886. Genl. Lord Alex. Russell (Admin.) 1886. 1888. Lt.-Genl. Sir John Ross (Admin.) 1888. Baron Stanley of Preston.

Lt.-Gen. Alex. Montgomery-Moore

1893. Earl of Aberdeen. (15th July) Lt.-General Alex Montgomery-Moore (Admin.) (13th Oct.) Lt.-General Alex. Montgomery-Moore (Admin.) (29th Nov.) Lt.-General Alex. Montgomery-Moore (Admin.) 1897. (13th Feb.) Lt.-General Alex. Montgomery-Moore (Admin.) 1897. (20th Oct.) Lt.-General Alex. Mont-

gomery-Moore (Admin.) (28th June) Gen. Lord William Sey-1898. mour (Admin.)

1898. Earl of Minto. (4th Oct.) Gen. Lord William Sev-1899. mour (Admin.)

## GOVERNORS OF NOVA SCOTIA. (f)

## AT PORT ROYAL. 1603. Pierre de Monts.1610. Baron de Poutrincourt.

(Admin.)

1611. Charles de Biencourt (Admin.) 1623. Charles de la Tour (Admin.) 1632. Isaac de Razilly.

1641. Chas. d'Aunay Charnisav.

1651. Chas. de la Tour. 1657. Sir Thomas Temple. (g) 1670. Hubert de Grandfontaine.

1673. Jacques de Chambly. 1678. Michel de la Vallière (Admin.)

1684. François M. Perrot. 1687. Robineau de Menneval. 1690. Robineau de Villebon. 1701. Jacques de Brouillan.

1704. Simon de Bonaventure (Admin.)

1706. M. de Subercase. 1710. Col. Saml. Vetch.

1713. Gen. Francis Nicholson. Col. Saml. Vetch (2nd time).

1717. Col. Richard Philipps. (h) 1725. Lawrence Armstrong (Lieut. Gov.)

1739. John Adams. (i)

1740. Major Paul Mascarene. (j)

AT HALIFAX.

1749. Hon. E. Cornwallis. 1752. Col. Peregrine Hopson. 1755. Col. C. Lawrence.

1760. J. Belcher (Acting).

1764. Montagu Wilmot. 1766. Lord William Campbell. 1773. F. Legge.

1776. Mariot Arbuthnot. 1778. Sir Richard Hughes. 1781. Sir A. S. Hamond.

1782. John Parr. 1791. Richard Bulkeley. 1792. Sir John Wentworth. 1808. Sir G. Prevost.

1811. Sir John Coape Sherbrooke.

1816. Earl of Dalhousie. 1820. Sir J. Kempt. 1828. Sir Peregrine Maitland. 1829. Michael Wallace (Acting).

1832. Thomas Jeffrey (Acting). 1834. Sir C. Campbell.

1840. Lord Falkland. 1846. Sir J. Harvey.

1852. Sir John G. le Marchant. 1858. Earl of Mulgrave.

1863. Maj.-Gen. Sir Hastings Doyle (Adm.) 1864. Sir Richard G. Macdonnell.

1865. Gen. Sir Fenwick Williams.

(e.) Sir Guy Carleton was Lieutenant-Governor and Acting Governor General from 24th September, 1766, to 25th October, 1768.

f.) From 1786 to 1867 the Governor at Quebec held also a commission as Governor of the Maritime Provinces, and (from 1791 to 1841) of Upper Canada, the Government of these provinces being administered by a Lieutenant-Governor, except during the presence in any province of the Governor General.

(g.) Acadie was held by the English from 1654 to 1670, for although the Treaty of Breda (1667) provided for its restoration to France it was not actually surrendered till

July, 1670.

(h.) Philipps appears to have remained Governor of Nova Scotia for several years, Armstrong administering the Government till he died by his own hand in 1739.

(i.) Adams administered the Government after Armstrong's death from 6th December, 1739, to 22nd March, 1740.

(j.) Mascarene administered the Government as President of the Council from 22nd March, 1740, till 1748, when he took command as Lieutenant-Governor and Commander-in-Chief in the absence of Philipps (See his letter to Secretary of State.)