	Rain. In.	Snow. In.	Total. In.
Coast	56.56	34.8	60.04
South interior	6.06	26.2	8.68
North interior	18.67	$134 \cdot 2$	32.09
Vancouver Island		$22 \cdot 2$	34.65
North part of coast	99.98	51.8	105 16

The following are the latitudes and longitudes of Ottawa (the seat of the Federal Government) and of the capitals of the several provinces; also of the chief commercial centres other than capital cities:—

Province.	Capital.	Latitudes.	Longitudes
British Columbia. Manitoba. New Brunswick Nova Scotia. Ontario. Prince Edward Island Quebec. North-west Territories. Dominion	Winnipeg. Fredericton Halifax Toronto Charlottetown Quebec	48 · 24 49 · 53 45 · 57 44 · 39 43 · 39 46 · 14 46 · 48 50 · 27 45 · 26	123·19 97·70 66·38 63·36 79·23 63·10 71·13 104·37 75·42
Other Ce	entres.	,	1
Montreal	$\begin{array}{ccc} \dots & 45 \cdot 17 \\ \dots & 43 \cdot 16 \\ \dots & 42 \cdot 59 \end{array}$	$73 \cdot 35$ $66 \cdot 40$ $79 \cdot 54$ $81 \cdot 13$ $76 \cdot 29$	

Representative institutions were granted by the British government to Nova Scotia in 1758, to Prince Edward Island in 1773, to New Brunswick in 1785. Upper and Lower Canada were separated in 1791, each province receiving a Legislature. The Imperial Act creating the two provinces contained the germ of responsible government which was brought into active exercise in 1841, when the two provinces were re-united. Responsible government was definitely established in the province of Canada in 1847. It was granted by the Imperial Parliament to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in 1848, to Prince Edward Island in 1851, and to British Columbia in 1871.

The North-west Territories were governed at first under the administration of the Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba; then by a Lieutenant-Governor and Council nominated by the Dominion Government (Act 1880); then by a Lieutenant-Governor and Council, part elected and part nominated; then in 1888 by a Lieutenant-Governor and an Advisory Council of four persons selected from an elected Assembly of 22 members; then by a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive and a Legislative Assembly, with powers the same as those conferred on the legislatures of the other provinces, excepting as to the borrowing of money on the sole credit of the province. Finally, by a Lieutenant-Governor and an Executive Council