105

all cases beyond the jurisdiction of the county court may be tried before a judge of the supreme court. The assistant judges of this court have also chancery powers. There is a surrogate and probate court for the province with one judge. A system of county courts is established consisting of three judges, one for each county. These are appointed and paid by the federal government and have jurisdiction in suits up to the sum of one hundred and fifty dollars. Education is under the direction of a Board of Education consisting of the members of the Executive Council of the province, the Superintendent of Education, who is also secretary of the Board, and the Principal of Prince of Wales College.

## IV.—QUEBEC.1

Political and Administrative Organization.—The first assembly of representatives of the people to be elected by popular vote sat at Quebec, the capital of Lower Canada, in 1792, after the establishment of the parliamentary government which still exists and which originated in the Constitutional Act of 1791. A similar form of government was at the same time established in the province of Upper Canada. This state of affairs lasted down to 1840, when the two provinces were united, and the territory formed by the union of the two Canadas received the name of province of Canada. Finally, in 1867, a confederation of four provinces was set up. The provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia were the first to join in establishing a central government, the seat of which was fixed by the Imperial Government at Ottawa.

The legislature of Quebec is composed of three branches: the Legislative Assembly of eighty-five members representing the eighty-six electoral divisions of the province (the counties of Charlevoix and Saguenay have the same representative); the Legislative Council of twenty-four members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council; and finally an Executive Council composed of the Lieutenant-Governor and his advisors, the ministers of the Crown.

The Legislative Assembly and also the Legislative Council have the power to bring forward bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to amend or repeal the laws which already exist. A bill, to be approved by the Lieutenant-Governor, must have received the assent of both Houses. Only the Legislative Assembly can bring forward a bill requiring the expenditure of public money. The extreme length of a Parliament is five years. The premier is assisted by seven ministers, each with departmental portfolios (one of them, the treasurer, having two portfolios) and by two ministers without portfolio.

Municipal Organization.—For the purposes of local or municipal administration, the province of Quebec is divided into county municipalities, 74 in number; these include rural municipalities and villages, as well as town municipalities hitherto organized under the former municipal code. In 1922 there were 22 city, 87 town and 261 village municipalities, as well as 943 rural municipalities, a total of 1,313 local municipalities. Each local municipality is administered by a corporation composed of seven members in the rural municipalities and of a number varying according to the municipality in the cities and towns. In rural municipalities, the election of candidates for the municipal council takes place annually in the month of January when three of the six councillors are replaced, while the mayor is elected

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Adapted from the article by G. E. Marquis, Chief of the Bureau of Statistics of Quebec, in the 1921 Year Book.