CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

Legislative Council of Quebec are also required to take and subscribe the oath of qualification for office as set forth in a schedule to the Act.

The Parliament and Government of Canada have all the powers necessary (Sec. 132) as a part of the British Empire for performing the obligations of Canada or any province towards foreign countries arising under treaties between the Empire and foreign countries. A department of State called the Department of External Affairs has recently been established (1912). The Prime Minister for the time

being is the Minister in charge of this department.

On the subject of language, Section 133 declares that either the English or the French language may be used by any person in the debates of the Houses of Parliament and of the Houses of the Legislature of Quebec and that both these languages shall be used in the records and journals of those Houses. It also provides that either of those languages may be used by any person, or in any pleading or process in any court of Canada established under the Act, and in all the courts of Quebec. All Acts of the Parliament of Canada and of the Legislature of Quebec are to be printed in both French and English.

Intercolonial Railway.—The construction of the Intercolonial Railway was made by the British North America Act one of the duties of the Parliament of Canada. The railway has been constructed and

extended at a total cost up to 1915 of \$101,467,501.85.

Admission of Other Colonies.—Power was given by the Act to the Sovereign to admit Newfoundland and other colonies to the union upon address from the Parliament of Canada and from the colonies interested. Under this power British Columbia was admitted in 1871 and Prince Edward Island in 1873. Rupert's Land was admitted in 1870 by Imperial Order-in-Council based upon the above provisions as confirmed by a special Imperial Act in 1868. Subsequently Manitoba became a province of the confederation (1870) by virtue of an Act of Parliament of Canada passed in pursuance of the powers above referred to.

Federal Administration.—Among the earliest Acts of Parliament were those establishing the various departments of government. The history of these is of considerable interest. Some additions and changes in the number, designations and powers of these departments have from time to time been made as circumstances demanded. present there are fifteen ministers of the Crown presiding over Each of these ministers must be a member of one or departments. other of the Houses of Parliament. These departments are as follows: Privy Council (presided over by the Prime Minister, who is also head of the Department of External Affairs recently established); Trade and Commerce; Public Works; Railways and Canals; Finance; Insurance; Marine; Naval Service, which includes Fisheries; Justice; Militia and Defence; Interior, the head of which department is also Superintendent General of Indian Affairs; Labour, Customs; Agriculture; Mines; Secretary of State, under which the Department of Public Printing and Stationery is included; Postmaster-General; Inland Revenue. All the Ministers of these departments are Privy Councillors and members of the Cabinet. The Governor-General also