CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT OF CANADA

provided (Sec. 84). The legislative assemblies were to continue for four years after every general election unless sooner dissolved (Sec. 85). The same rules as to the requirement of a yearly session, as settled for the Dominion Parliament, were established (Sec. 86), as were also the rules as to the election of the Speaker, as to quorum and voting. The provinces of Nova Scotia and New Brunswick continued the constitution of their legislatures as existing at the time of the union.

The important constitutional provisions above referred to as to the preliminaries necessary to the passing of the money votes, the disallowance of acts and the assent of bills reserved were made applicable to the provincial legislatures (Sec. 90) in the same manner as to the Dominion Parliament. In these cases the lieutenant-governor stands in the same relation to the provinces as does the King to the Dominion.

Distribution of Legislative Powers.—The title of the sixth division of the British North America Act is "Distribution of Legislative Powers." This distribution is essential to a federal system and has necessarily given rise to many of the most difficult questions that have arisen as to the powers of the Dominion Parliament and local legislatures respectively. These questions have been settled by judicial decisions of the greatest practical importance. The well-known sections (Secs. 91 and 92) cover a large part of this very extensive battle ground.

Powers of Parliament.—The powers of the Federal Parliament include all subjects not assigned exclusively to the provincial legislatures. In this respect the Canadian federal system differs from that

of the United States and also from that of the Commonwealth of Australia, wherein the powers of the respective states, generally speaking, cover all matters not especially or exclusively assigned to the union. The exclusive legislative authority of the Parliament of Canada extends to all matters coming within the following class of subjects (Sec. 91): public debt and property; trade and commerce; the raising of money by taxation for federal purposes; the borrowing of money on the public credit: the postal service and census and statistics; military and naval service and defence; the fixing and paying salaries of the officers of the government; navigation; beacons; light-



houses; quarantine and the establishment and maintenance of marine hospitals; sea coast and inland fisheries and ferries between provinces or between a province and any other country; currency; coinage; banks and banking; issue of paper money; savings banks;