Tables

not available not applicable	e estimate p preliminary
- nil or zero	r revised
too small to be expressed	certain tables may not add due to rounding

2.1 Provinces and territories of Canada, dates of admission to Confederation, legislative processes by which admission was effected, present area and seat of government

Province, territory or district	Date of admission or creation		Legislative process	Present area km²	Seat of provincial or territorial government	
Ontario ¹	July	1, 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament - The British North	(1068582	Toronto	
Quebec ²	July	1, 1867	America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c. 3) and	1540680	Quebec	
Nova Scotia	July	1, 1867	Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867	55 491	Halifax	
New Brunswick	July	1, 1867		73.437	Fredericton	
Manitoba ^a	July	15, 1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	650 087	Winnipeg	
British Columbia	July	20, 1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	948 596	Victoria	
Prince Edward Island	July	1, 1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	5 6 5 7	Charlottetown	
Saskatchewan*	Sept.	1, 1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 42)	651 900	Regina	
Alberta*	Sept.	1, 1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c, 3)	661 185	Edmonton	
Newfoundland	Mar.	31, 1949	The British North America Act, 1949 (Br. Stat. 1949, c. 22)	404 517	St. John's	
Northwest Territories	July	15, 1870	Act of Imperial Parliament — Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105) and Imperial Order	2.220.002		
32.1759-5	200	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	in Council, June 23, 1870	3 379 683		
Mackenzie*	Jan.	1. 1920	W. V	r1 366 193	Yellowknile	
Keewatin*	Jan.	1. 1920 >	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	390 931	A Secondary Control	
Franklin*	Jan.	1, 1920	The same of the same same same and	1422 559		
Yukon Territory [™]	June	13, 1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (SC 1898, c. 6)	536 324	Whitehorse	
Canada				9976139		

¹The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 40).

*Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional districts of Assimboia. Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory were transferred to Canada effective July 15, 1870. These territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c. 3, and as the North-West Territories by RSC 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of NewToundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional retritories were formally included in the North-West Territories by SC 1905, c. 27. The province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1880, c. 3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1881 by SC 1881, c. 14. The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formed out of portions of the territories in 1905 and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

*By SC 1876, c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be reannexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 1876 was never proclaimed. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabaska were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitobas, By Order in Council districts were were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin man Franklin.

The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (RSC 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and, by the Yukon Territory Act (SC 1898, c. 6), was declared to be a separate territory.

2.2 Police personnel, actual strength, 1975 and 1976

Force	1975				1976			
	Police	Cadets	Other full-time employees	Total	Police	Cadets	Other full-time employees	Total
Royal Canadian Mounted Police	14,072	-	4,365	18,437	14,012	-	4,650	18,662
Ontario Provincial Police	4,046	-	1,166	5,212	4,064	-	1,169	5,233
Quebec Police Force Municipal Police (excl. RCMP and	4,107	1	964	5,072	4,194	1	975	5,170
OPP contracts)	27,430	575	4.177	32,182	28,372	542	4,498	33,412
Canadian National Railways Police Canadian Pacific Railway Company	458	-	28	486	432	_	25	457
Police	318	-	92	410	318	(i-c	89	407
National Harbours Board Police	236	1	92 90	326	237	-	89 97	334
Total	50,667	576	10,882	62,125	51,629	543	11,503	63,675

Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 45).

Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 32)