Tables

not available	e estimate
not appropriate or not applicable	p preliminary
 nil or zero 	r revised
too small to be expressed	certain tables may not add due to rounding

2.1 Provinces and territories of Canada, dates of admission to Confederation, legislative processes by which admission was effected, present area and seat of government

Province, territory or district	Date of admission or creation		Legislative process	Present area sq miles	Seat of provincial or territorial government	
Ontario ¹	July 1	1, 1867)	Act of Imperial Parliament - The British North	(412,582	Toronto	
Quebec ²	July 1	1, 1867	America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c. 3) and	594,860	Ouebec	
Nova Scotia	July 1	1, 1867	Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867	21,425	Halifax	
New Brunswick		1, 1867		28,354	Fredericton	
Manitoba		5, 1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	251,000	Winnipeg	
British Columbia	July 20), 1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	366,255	Victoria	
Prince Edward Island	July 1	1, 1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	2.184	Charlottetown	
Saskatchewan*	Sept. 1	1, 1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 42)	251,700	Regina	
Alberta*		1, 1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 3)	255,285	Edmonton	
Newfoundland		1, 1949	The British North America Act, 1949 (Br. Stat. 1949, c. 22)	156,185	St. John's	
Northwest Territories ⁵	July 15	5, 1870	Act of Imperial Parliament — Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	1,304,903		
Mackenzie*	Jan. 1	1, 1920)	The second account of the second seco	r 527,490	V. W A	
Keewatin*	Jan. 1	1, 1920 >	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	228,160	≻Yellowknife	
Franklin ⁸		1, 1920	PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY OF THE COURT	549,253)		
Yukon Territory ⁷	June 13	3, 1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (SC 1898, c. 6)	207,076	Whitehorse	
Canada				3,851,809		

The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 40).

*By SC 1876, c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be reannexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 1876 was never proclaimed, porder in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabaska were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Vukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920) the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin.

The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (RSC 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and, by the Yukon Territory Act (SC 1898, c. 6), was declared to be a separate territory.

2.2 Police personnel, actual strength, 1973 and 1974

Force	1973				1974			
	Police	Cadets	Other full-time employees	Total	Police	Cadets	Other full-time employees	Total
Royal Canadian Mounted Police	11.987	_	3,861	15,848	12,971		3,411	16,382
Ontario Provincial Police	3,766	24	1,196	4.986	3,860	32	1,219	5,111
Quebec Police Force	3,995	9	862	4,866	4,013	5	932	4,950
Municipal Police (excl. RCMP and								
OPP contracts)	25,000	530	3,549	29,079	26,156	537	3,722	30,415
Canadian National Railways Police	502	-	28	530	496		29	525
Canadian Pacific Railway Company								
Police	329	_	91	420	324	_	92 73	416
National Harbours Board Police	230	_	64	294	231	-	7.3	304
Total	45,809	563	9,651	56,023	48,051	574	9,478	58,103

^aExtended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 45).

³Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 32).

Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

⁹By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory were transferred to Canada effective July 15, 1870. These territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c. 3, and as the North-West Territories by RSC 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and the lands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of NewFoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional retritories were formally included in the North-West Territories by SC 1905, c. 27. The province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.