of the school municipality; the assessment roll prepared by the Municipal Council must, except in rare cases, serve as a basis for the taxation imposed by the school corporations.

Formerly the school corporations had under their control schools of four kinds; kindergartens, elementary primary, intermediate primary and superior primary schools. A modification of the above classification was made in September, 1923, under which the last three types of schools were reduced to two which are the primary course (4 years) and the intermediate course (4 years). The programme of studies has been modified so as to give a more suitable type of education to country children, so as to keep them on the land, and to provide for town and city children an education which will fit them for industry, commerce and finance.

Besides the schools under control of the school corporation, there are also the classical colleges where secondary instruction is given, as well as four universities, not including several special schools. The whole school organization is directed by the Council of Public Instruction, which prepares the school regulations and the programme of studies. It chooses also the professors and principals of the Normal schools, as well as the examiners of candidates for teachers' certificates; finally, it approves as it sees fit, the textbooks which are submitted to it. When the two Committees of the Council sit together, thus constituting the Council, its chairman is the Superintendent of Public Instruction, who also directs the Department of Public Instruction. He is named for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, but the Provincial Secretary is the spokesman of this department, and is responsible before the provincial legislature for its administration.

V.-ONTARIO.¹

Historical.—The northern part of what is now the province of Ontario came under British rule in 1713, by the Treaty of Utrecht, the southern part in 1763, by the Treaty of Paris. At the latter date the whole white population was only about 1,000, mainly settled along the Detroit river. By Royal Proclamation of Oct. 7, 1763, the eastern part of the province, and by the Quebec Act of 1774 (14 Geo. III, c. 83), the whole of what is now southern Ontario, became part of the province of Quebec, under French civil and English criminal law and without any representative government. The immigration of the United Empire Loyalists and their settlement in the country led to an increasing demand both for English civil law and for representative institutions. This demand was met by the passing of the Constitutional Act of 1791 (31 Geo. III, c. 31), which established the province of Upper Canada with a Lieutenant-Governor, a Legislative Council of not fewer than seven, and a Legislative Assembly of not fewer than sixteen members, to be elected by the people. These representatives of the people, however, had little control over the Executive Council, and the result was the struggle for responsible government which culminated in the rebellion of 1837, after which Lord Durham's report paved the way for its introduction and the union of the Canadas by the Act of Union (3-4 Vict., c. 35).

Present Constitution.—The Legislative Assembly of Ontario, the single chamber of the legislature of the province, was originally composed of 82 elected members, the number, however, having been increased until the present when

¹Adapted from the article by S. A. Cudmore, Editor Canada Year Book, in the 1921 Year Book.