TEMPERANCE

TEMPERANCE.

Previous issues of the Year Book contain particulars of the elections under the Canada Temperance Act which has been submitted to public opinion in nine cities and seventy-three counties. It is in force in one city and twenty-six counties.

The following is a summary :---

Carri	ed five time	s and still in	force	1
	four		······	1
л.	twice		·····	4
11	once	u	2	1
	At 1	present in for	ce	7
Defea	ated the firs	t time and no		7
Carri	ed the first	election, but	defeated the second 3	0
Carri	ed twice an	d lost twice		1
Carri	ed once and	lost twice		1
Carri	ed twice an	d lost once		4
Lost	twice and n	ot carried at	all	1
Carie t	d three tin he sixth	nes, rejected	the fourth, carried the fifth and rejected	1
				5
			Ð	Ð

The following statement gives the places in which the Canada Temperance Act was in force on April 1, 1905 :---

Nova Scotia.	New Brunswick.	Prince Edward Jsland.	Manitoba.
Annapolis. Jape-Breton. Jumberland. Jigby. Juysborough. Hants. nverness. King's. Victou. Jueen's. helburne. Jarmouth.	Albert. Carleton. Charlotte. Fredericton. Xing's. Northumberland. Queen's. Sunbury. Westmoreland. York.	King's. Queen's. Prince.	Lisgar. Marquette.

In the provinces of Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia the Act is nowhere in force.