TREATIES.

In the Year Book of Canada for 1895, a digest was given of the Treaties relating to Canada made by our sovereigns with the rulers of other countries.

On 8th February, 1896, a convention was signed by Great Britain and the United States, providing for reference to two commissioners to determine the liability of the United States in respect to claims on account of injuries sustained by persons in whose behalf Great Britain is entitled to claim compensation under the provisions of the treaty between Great Britain and the United States, signed 29th February, 1892, concerning the jurisdictional right of the United States in the waters of Behring Sea and the preservation of the fur seal therein.

Mr. Justice Putnam, on behalf of the United States, and Mr. Justice King, on behalf of Canada, were appointed commissioners in July, 1896. The King of Sweden consented to act as umpire. The Dominion Parliament passed the necessary Act on 23rd April, 1896. The commissioners, after holding sessions in several cities, met in Boston, in December, 1897, and gave their award against the United States in the sum of \$463,454.

This amount was paid on 16th June, 1898.

On 30th July, 1897, the Government of the United Kingdom denounced the commercial treaties with Belgium and Germany which had been in force since 1862 and 1865, respectively. Under the treaties, a year's notice was required. These treaties, therefore, ceased to be operative on 30th July, 1898.

British Treaties of Commerce affecting Canada are:

(Arranged alphabetically.)

- 1825. Argentine Confederation.—Reciprocal most-favoured nation stipulations. Applicable to British dominions. No term fixed.
- 1876. Austria-Hungary.—Reciprocal most-favoured stipulations. Applicable to British colonies and foreign possessions. Terminable one year after notice.
- 1840. Bolivia.—Reciprocal most-favoured nation stipulations. Applicable to British dominions. No term fixed.
- 1897. Bulgaria.—Reciprocal most-favoured nation stipulations. Applicable to Canada on her accepting. To remain in force till end of December, 1899. Canada declined to accede. O.C., Nov. 16, 1897.
- 1866. Columbia.—Reciprocal most-favoured nation stipulations. Applicable to British dominions. Terminable one year after notice.
- 1883. Corea.—Article X. stipulates that the government, public officers and subjects shall participate in all privileges, immunities and advantages, especially in relation to import or export duties on goods and manufactures, which shall then have been granted or may hereafter be granted by His Majesty the King of Corea to the government, public officers or subjects of any other power. Applicable to British colonies unless excepted by notice. May be modified one year after notice.
- 1849. Costa Rica.—For foreign affairs reciprocal most-favoured nation stipulations. Applicable to British territories and dominions. Terminable