DIVORCES.

In Canada, under the Union Act, 1867, divorce is one of the subjects assigned to the Federal Parliament. As, however, some of the provinces had established divorce courts before Confederation, they have been permitted to continue the jurisdiction which was conferred upon their courts. These provinces are : Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and British Columbia. A Divorce Court was first established in Nova Scotia in 1739. It consisted of the Governor or Commander-in-Chief and the members of the Executive Council. By act, 1866, the Judge in Equity became Judge Ordinary of the court. One of the assistant judges of the Supreme Court is now at the head of this court. The court has jurisdiction to declare any marriage null and void for impotency, adultery, cruelty or kindred within the prohibited degrees.

In New Brunswick a divorce court was established in 1791, and consisted of the Governor and five members of the Executive Council. In 1835 a judge of the Supreme Court was added, and in 1860 a Court of Divorce and Matrimonial Causes was created.

Prince Edward Island, in 1836, received a Court of Divorce, composed of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council.

British Columbia exercises the power of granting divorces under an ordinance passed in 1867, after the union of the two Colonies of Vancouver Island and the Mainland, which enacted that the civil and criminal laws of England, as they existed on the 19th November, 1858, were in force in all parts of British Columbia.

In Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba and the North-west Territories divorce can only be obtained by legislation—an Act of the Parliament of Canada being necessary. The rules of the Senate touching divorce require the production of such evidence in support of the application for relief as would be deemed sufficient in a court of law; in other respects the matter is dealt with as for an ordinary private Act of Parliament.